Gone phishing
The news this morning was that phishing attacks have skyrocketed 1,000 percent in 2004, especially in the last few months. I hope they mean attempted attacks and not successful ones. These scams are just too easy to spot.
Phishing scams, in case you don't know (or have been blithely fooled by them until this moment), are typically bogus e-mail messages that ask you to "update your account information" at eBay, PayPal, Citibank, and so on. The e-mail looks legit, with the correct logos and tedious customer service language in the message. Then there's a handy link to click to update your account. But it's bogus. It sends you to a clever fake site mimicking the real eBay, PayPal, or Citibank but which is just a criminal facade with a Web form asking for your name, address, social security number, mom's maiden name, and password--basically everything anyone needs to ruin your life. On the other end, a criminal group gets the data and goes to work on your bank balance, credit score, and sanity.
There's a simple way to spot these scams. Just hover your mouse over the link in the e-mail. After a second or two, your browser or e-mail software will pop up a little balloon that will show you the real link you'd be clicking. It will be patently bogus. For example, the link in a recent PayPal phish that I received looked like this in the actual body of the e-mail:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
But hovering over it, the actual URL was revealed to be
http://www.paypal-customers.net/
That's undoubtedly some boiler-room operation that I hope is getting busted right now. In fact, it may already have been shut down: that domain is showing up as nonregistered.
Here's another link example, supposedly from Washington Mutual Bank asking me to update my account (which doesn't exist) via this link:
https://login.personal.wamu.com/logon/logon.asp?dd=1
It actually goes to:
http://washington02.netfirms.com/login.personal.wamu.com/internetBanking.secureApp/
The part in bold is where you'll be taken if you click. Netfirms.com is a company that hosts small Web sites and, apparently, criminals as well. The next part in italics looks legit but is just window dressing, merely a subdirectory of the bogus site, not a link to Washington Mutual at all. So you'd be getting screwed.
This URL stuff is too technical for a lot of Net users, which is why these things work. But for those who have even a little understanding of how the Web works, these are easy to spot. Now you know. I bet you also know someone who has fallen for it. Or worse, someone who's been taken in and doesn't know it.